## **INTRODUCTION**

The Planning Commission, vide its letter No.I&M-3 (17)/2006 dated 22<sup>nd</sup> May, 2006 constituted a Working Group for the Textiles & Jute Industry for the Eleventh Five Year Plan under the Chairmanship of Shri D. P. Singh, Secretary (Textiles) and Shri J. N. Singh, Textile Commissioner as Member Secretary. The composition and terms of reference of the Working Group are at **Appendix - A**.

- 2 The Working Group constituted eight Sub Groups on Textiles and Apparel Industry, Powerlooms, Wool & Woollen, Handlooms, Handicrafts, Sericulture, Jute and Jute textiles and Technical Textiles.
- 3 The eight Sub-Groups were constituted in the following manner:

Sr. No.	Name of the Sub-Group	Chairman
(i)	Textiles & Apparel Industry	Shri Sudripta Roy, Joint Secretary, MoT
		Shri J. N. Singh, Textile Commissioner – Co-Chairman
(ii)	Powerlooms	Shri J. N. Singh, Textile Commissioner
(iii)	Wool & Woollen	Shri J. N. Singh, Textile Commissioner
(iv)	Handlooms	Shri B. K. Sinha, Development Commissioner (Handlooms)
(v)	Handicrafts	Shri Sanjay Agarwal, Development Commissioner (Handicrafts)
(vi)	Sericulture	Shri Bhupendra Singh, Joint Secretary, MoT
(vii)	Jute and Jute Textiles	Shri S. Mazumdar, Jute Commissioner
(viii)	Technical Textiles	Shri J. N. Singh, Textile Commissioner

4. The composition and terms of reference of the various Sub Groups are at **Appendix - B**. The Working Group held its first meeting on 02.08.2006. The draft report of the Working Group was also discussed on 26.10.2006 and again on 2.11.2006. The records of the various Sub Groups and the recommendations were considered by the Working Group and incorporated in the Report, keeping in view the guidelines of the Planning Commission given in the approach paper for the Eleventh Five Year Plan and recommendations of the National Manufacturing Competitive Council (NMCC).